RSS

Book Sale P’s & Q’s

25 Mar

Hi, folks! I’m pretty excited because tomorrow I will be attending a humongous library book sale in my area and I’m getting all my stuff gathered around to go.  Some of what I’m taking includes:

Crossbody purse (the less I have to hold, the better),

Money (of course)

Some sturdy bags (this isn’t a bag sale, and I don’t know what will be provided so I’m prepared just in case),

Water bottle,

Calculator,

Tablet (access to goodreads, etc),

Lunch,

Glasses (need to see long distances),

Comfortable clothing (suitable for lots of bending over, standing),

TBR Notebooks (maybe- except it’s hard to hold too many things while shopping).

This sort of sale isn’t for the faint of heart. I know sometimes people can get downright rude and pushy.  But there are also lots of nice people, and I’m praying people remember their manners and make it a pleasant experience for all.

However, lately I’ve been contemplating an ever-increasing issue when it comes to these sales, especially the big ones in the cities like tomorrow. And that is that it’s getting more popular for book resellers to show up.  Believe you me, I don’t have hatred for these folks (because I confess: I’m one of them).  But there is a right way and a wrong way to go about it.  Playing by the rules, respecting others, respecting the books and other items for sale, and making sure that what you’re purchasing will be of value to you is important to remember.  But when resellers (or others, for that matter) cheat, hoard, scoop, push, steal, etc.– that gives themselves and all resellers a bad name.  The fact of the matter is, there really are others out there that just heartily enjoy a good book sale and wish to go treasure hunting for themselves.  And when they look over and see someone thoughtlessly stuffing half the table into their bags without even bothering to seriously check if it’s worth it—just stuffing for the penny’s risk of a chance at profit—it takes the fun out of it.  Then they get offended if someone gives them a hairy eyeball.  That’s when the Friends of the Library become not-so friendly and rules change, book resellers get banned, and prices go up.

When I go tomorrow, I will have 3 missions. One is to shop for my book selling business.  The other is to find interesting non-fiction books that pique my fancy, or exciting novels I’ve had on my TBR list.  And finally, I shop for my church library as well.  I can’t wait!

What are some things you like/dislike about library book sales?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2017 in Book Shopping

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
