RSS

Words and Music: Hinterland

26 Oct

I think that is going to be one of my favorite words from now on: ‘hinterland’.  It’s so full of mystery and unreachability.  Recently on BBC 3, Words and Music did a program on the word and I enjoyed listening to it last night.  Full of poetry by Robert Burns, William Wordsworth, and Christine Rosetti, and one piece I liked in particular: “The Road to Oxiana,” by Robert Byron.  The music creates appropriate atmosphere from composers such as Mendelssohn and Benjamin Britten.  I liked a new type of music I had never heard before called “Walking Song,” from Meredith Monk.  I thought it made a good listen-to on an autumn evening.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2016 in Audio/Radio Dramas

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
