RSS

Non-Fiction Books I’m Liking (Summer 2016)

24 Aug

Thought I’d get my Summer non-fiction faves posted before summer turns to fall!  Ha!  During what’s left of this season, learn the truth about discounts and controversial figures…

Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America’s Cheapest Family, by Steve & Annette Economides ~ I’ve been on a coupon, money-saving roll ever since last summer when I read “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Couponing” by Rachel Singer Gordon (see book review here). Although I wouldn’t consider myself an extreme couponer, I have felt the thrill of being able to stretch the budget a little further.  As many of you know, I’m an avid listener of Moody Radio and I have heard the Economides interviewed on In the Market with Janet Parshall. So I was curious to take my saving skills a little deeper and check out their book from the library to see what I could learn from yet another book.  I found their style user-friendly and appreciated the fact that they were writing from a Christian worldview.  The Economides aren’t hoarders, but they are savvy and make it their life calling to teach others how to save money.  I probably won’t be following all of their advice in their book (for example, grocery shopping one day a month or grinding my own meat), but I’ve been implementing a few tips here and there.  For example, we’ve reorganized our whole deep chest freezer to be able to utilize it more efficiently.  We’ve also gone the extra step to print out price tracking sheets for each item we regularly buy and chart the price differences from the local stores we frequent.  I wouldn’t have believed it would make that much difference, but it does and the work pays off!  I learned organization is the key.  I’m already benefitting greatly from the Economides’ book.  Hooray!!

The Story of Alice, by Robert Douglas-Fairhurst ~ How much do you know about Charles Dodgson (aka, Lewis Carroll), the author of Alice in Wonderland?  If you’re like me, you knew little snatches here and there.  Something about a boat ride and a real little girl named Alice.  And oh yeah, wasn’t he in love with her?  Forget all you thought you knew about Mr. Dodgson and introduce yourself anew with this well researched biography.  Although I didn’t read it cover to cover, I did find it fascinating as I spent several days skim reading my way through.  I really appreciated that the author didn’t clamp onto scandalous rumors in order to churn out something sensational.  He thoughtfully presented all the possibilities and the end result was a well-balanced account that one can make up one’s own mind about.  It’s my opinion that Charles Dodgson was an old-fashioned Victorian who was terribly misunderstood in his own day, and especially in our’s.  I also enjoyed looking at his hobby photographs displayed in the book.  I think this would be of interest to anyone who is an Alice fan, or who enjoys history.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2016 in Non-Fiction Books I'm Liking

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
