RSS

A Visit from Johnny Heller

20 Aug

serveimageHi! It’s been a while since I’ve had some time to sit down to blog…  I thought I’d tell you about an interesting opportunity I had to go see a professional audiobook narrator perform live!

If you love audiobooks and have ever listened to “Marley & Me”, the “Horrible Harry” childrens’ series, or “Lusitania”, chances are you probably were listening to the voice of Johnny Heller.  Having narrated over 200 titles, won many different awards including a few Audie Awards, Heller has been named among the top 50 narrators of the 20th century by Audiofile Magazine.  Last June Johnny Heller came to a library in my local area.

I really appreciated that he and his wife came all the way from New York, even though there wasn’t as big of a turnout as was expected.  It didn’t seem to bother them and Mr. Heller was gracious and relaxed as he started out the evening by describing the process of creating an audiobook.  He brought humor to it all as well, when he chose a couple of his favorite excerpts from past projects he’s recorded.  I was also pleased to hear that he explained he doesn’t accept reading titles that go against his values, such as books that denigrate women.

During the last part of his visit, he accepted Q&A time, and I got to ask him two questions that I had.  I only wish I could have asked him more.  It never occurred to me to take pictures, so sorry about that oversight!  It was a fun evening, I wish it had been longer– but thank you Mr. Heller for coming to perform! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
