RSS

Book Review: “Traces of Mercy,” by Michael Landon, Jr. & Cindy Kelley

28 Jul

17165463Genre: Inspirational fiction; Civil War

Plot Summary: In the days after the Civil War, a young woman awakens after a head trauma only to discover she has lost her memory.  A sisterhood of nuns at the local convent take her in and give her the name Mercy.  While nothing seems to jog her memory, the handsome son of a wealthy neighbor becomes enamored with her and begins to court her.  But as their relationship deepens, a stranger arrives who could threaten their happiness.  Mercy isn’t sure she can lose everything a second time around…

My Book Review:  I’ve seen several of Michael Landon, Jr’s films and have even reviewed a couple on this blog.  Their quality is so-so in my opinion, but some are better than others and they’re always wholesome entertainment.  I didn’t expect his fiction novels to be much different, but the plot of this book had me interested enough to give it a try.

I felt the quality of writing in this first installment of the Mercy Medallion Trilogy was better than I expected, yet not as good as I’d hoped.  I found that I was interested during the first third of the story.  Great plot, some promise….  The middle lagged and I got bored…  And then came the last third where I totally lost my sympathy for the heroine and (even worse), lost faith in the story.  The very ending had me somewhat wondering what would happen next between Elijah Hale and Mercy, but I have little interest in reading any more of this series.  I think if I ever come across books 2 & 3 at the library, I might skim read them, but I don’t feel like investing myself further in the series.

This book had a strong Catholic bent to it, which I don’t necessarily mind reading even if I am Protestant Baptist.  But I don’t share the same spiritual views as these particular nuns in the story.  Their relationships with God did not seem very hopeful or personal and I would have liked it better if they could have influenced Mercy in a more uplifting way.

It could possibly make for an entertaining movie if the authors ever decide to.  This book wasn’t terrible, and I can imagine some might even like it.  It just wasn’t for me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2016 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
