RSS

Book Review: “Misery Loves Company,” by Rene Gutteridge

11 Dec

16923852Genre: Christian Inspirational fiction; contemporary; mystery

Plot Summary: Jules Belleno has lived alone since the shooting of her police officer husband two years ago.  Shut off from everyone and everything, her only involvement with the outer world is her through her social media where she posts book reviews, especially of books by her favorite author Patrick Reagan.  But then Jules goes missing, and no one seems to know where or why.  Does Reagan have anything to do with it?  Who will care enough to search for her before it’s too late?

My Book Review: I don’t usually read mysteries, but this one wasn’t a typical brooding murder and the plot sounded original.  Plus, the book cover art was so enticing I couldn’t pass it up!  It was the type of book you’d want to ‘curl up with,’ especially since Jules is held hostage at an idyllic mountain cabin getaway.

It’s hard to write a book review of a mystery that’s about a book review blogger who is kidnapped because of an unfavorable review of a mystery.  ????  (So if I go missing…  Just sayin’…:) )

The story started off well and really gripped me.  “Don’t tell me it’s terrifying.  Terrify me,” Jules writes in her book review post of Patrick Reagan’s latest work of fiction.  It looks like she gets exactly what she wished for.  But I started feeling too sympathetic with the kidnapper too quickly, and right away the story lost its tension.  I wasn’t scared anymore.  Trust me to develop Stockholm Syndrome.  By the way, was I the only one who felt a little romantic tension going on between Reagan and Jules?  Or was that sick?

I’m not sure I understood crucial parts of it, like why Jules was kidnapped in the first place (which is sort of disappointing when that’s the whole story right there).  I mean, I was told several different reasons, but none of them seemed to make sense to me and I felt confused.  Was it a writing lesson, insanity, a man going through the process of grief, or was it all for her own protection?

Don’t get me wrong, the book made for some good entertainment and I’m sure there are many who will enjoy it if they love mysteries all the way around.  I don’t like gorey, brooding, intense murders, so this was a much easier mystery for me to handle.  I felt the descriptions were very good, as I was easily able to picture the settings and people in vivid detail in my mind.  The character of Reagan especially looked so real to me in my imagination…  He was a dead ringer for Alan Rickman!

Alan Rickman as Patrick Reagan??

Alan Rickman as Patrick Reagan?

You can listen to the complete first chapter of “Misery Loves Company” below:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2015 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
