RSS

Missing Midday Connection…

17 Sep

b0d4dfced73409aed97fc65214ee2f06Today I was shocked to learn that my favorite Moody Radio program, Midday Connection, is being cancelled and will air for the last time on Friday, Sept. 18. I certainly am one of the many listeners who I’m sure are grieving right now. It might sound sort of funny to grieve over the loss of a radio show. Midday Connection has been around for 20+ years, and I know that it has been a major player in shaping how I think about life and all things spiritual.

Midday, through their hosts Melinda Schmidt, Anita Lustrea, and Lori Neff, along with their many wonderful guests over the years have taught me so many things. Through listening to their in-depth, intellectual conversations, I’ve learned to look at things from a different angle, get perspective, grow spiritually, learn to love God more, learn to think critically, and form my own theologies in living daily life. I know God has used this show to teach me so many spiritual skills that I don’t know where I’d be without today. I’ve often felt their programs were like a college course or therapy session I could always use.

9382abe23d27b8a2752dec0eab9ae1d3Through the magic of audio, one has a sense of being in close relationship with another, even though they’d never met. When I sat down at my computer with my headphones and listened to Anita or Melinda, I felt like they were familiar friends.  I’ve also had the honor of Lori Neff commenting on this blog! 🙂

I know the YouPick and WePick book clubs will be greatly missed on booklearned, along with Dr. Rosalie de Rosset’s great talks that always hit the mark. Many’s the time I’ve pumped my fist in the air and cheered to hear someone say something so right with such certainty and passion. (Love her! She needs her own podcast.)

You can listen to the original announcement made by Collin Lambert on the show last Thursday by clicking here.  Rosalie de Rosset was a guest on that program, talking about the book, “East of Eden,” by John Steinbeck, literature in general, plus several other good books she recommended.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2015 in Midday Connection Book Club

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Missing Midday Connection…

  1. Barb

    September 18, 2015 at 3:59 am

    I don’t think to listen to radio when I am on the computer and can only get Moody when I am in the car and close enough to Grand Rapids for a clear signal, so hadn’t listened to more than bits and pieces of the program for a long time. I remember when Andrea Fabry (wife of Chris Fabry) was on the program! Excellent program. I’m sad to learn that it is ending.

     
    • booklearner

      September 18, 2015 at 9:30 pm

      I remember when Andrea was host, too. I listened to the last program today live. I was bawling!

       

Leave a Reply

 
