RSS

Non-Fiction Books I’m Liking (Summer 2015)

29 Jun

God is a creative God and has created us to be creative as well!  That’s the topics of the non fiction books I’m liking this summer!

19868756The Nesting Place: It Doesn’t Have to Be Perfect to Be Beautiful, by Myquillyn Smith ~ I have always loved decorating in my own little nest.  Be in my bedroom, craft room, or fantasy-decorating my very own home on Pinterest, I love creating atmosphere.  So this book immediately caught my eye at the library and I looked at it in the mornings while eating breakfast.  Most of the time I only look at the pictures, and maybe read the captions of decorating books and magazines.  But Myquillyn Smith’s narrative running throughout the whole books was interesting and fun.  I loved her creative ideas of doing something lovely with a space without spending much money, like her faux-decorative “painted” walls… using duct tape.  Or trendy fireplace, using chalkboard contact paper.  This might sound tacky, but actually the photographs of her home were pretty amazing and never ugly.  She stresses the point that it doesn’t have to be perfect and expensive to be lovely (she should know since her home has appeared in Better Homes and Gardens DIY & Ladies Home Journal).  I also liked how honest she was about her family’s history of moving.  If I remember correctly, I believe it was somewhere around 13 times in 14 years, so this author has had lots of experience in the world of trial and error when it comes to decorating on a budget.  One drawback is that since all of the photographs are of her family’s rental home, you see the same rooms over and over again throughout the book, but she is adept at changing up the details on the walls and on the side tables that it doesn’t get boring.  Although her décor style is not my own, I was inspired that with a little ingénue, I can turn a blah space into something nice to live in.  Also, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this book was published by Zondervan, and that the author herself is a Christian.  Her Christ-centered view clearly shines through her passion of making others feel at home.  You can view Myquillyn Smith’s blog here.

260842Beyond the Cosmos: What Recent Discoveries in Astrophysics Reveal About the Glory and Love of God, by Hugh Ross ~ I’ll admit that I haven’t always agreed with everything Hugh Ross believes about the age of the earth, creation, and so forth.  But when I discovered this book on goodreads, I was intrigued enough to give this book by Ross a try.  I found it to be a highly interesting and thought provoking book.  Grasping science has never been a strong point for me, but that doesn’t mean I’m not interested in study of things that are or might be.  The title of this book probably doesn’t sound that thrilling, but what I liked most about reading it is the author’s description of the four dimensional world we live in, contrasted with what a world with more dimensions would be like.  Why does this matter and what does it have to with God?  If we use our God-given imaginations a bit, what if Heaven contained more dimensions that what we experience on earth and what would that look like?  And if God existed in more dimensions than we can, it may explain how He can listen to everyone’s prayers in the same moment and be 100% present with each of us.  It makes one scratch their chin a bit!  However, a couple chapters did have me scratching my head as well because of the science being talked about being beyond me.  The author admits that there are at least two chapters that may escape some, but that it isn’t necessary to understand if so.  The rest of the book I enjoyed, and there are numerous diagrams and charts throughout the book to illustrate what the author talks about.  The edition I read was updated and published in 1999.  I would love to read a more recent updated version since I’m sure much more has been discovered and theorized since then.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
