RSS

Non-Fiction Books I’m Liking (Spring 2015)

10 Apr

There are so many wonderful things in God’s world and other worlds to be in awe over.  Books can help us discover them!

29725“Too Loud, Too Bright, Too Fast, Too Tight: What to Do If You Are Sensory Defensive in an Overstimulating World,” by Sharon Heller ~ This book was one I discovered on Goodreads.  I’d been experiencing some symptoms that I wondered was connected in any way to being sensory defensive, so I decided to check out this book to find out.  How interesting can a book about medical conditions be?  I don’t really know since this is the first I’ve read, but I’ll be guessing most are pretty dry.  But this book surprised me in that the author herself was sensory defensive and the facts and information she gave throughout the book was interesting, informative, and helpful.  I kept finding myself going: “Huh!  I didn’t know that!”  In the end, I decided I wasn’t exactly sensory defensive according to Sharon Heller’s descriptions, but there were still some things I could relate to and it helped to be able to understand my body and mind better.  I also appreciated that the author writes from a more holistic point of view.  However, there may be some who wish to skip parts that are a little more ‘zen’ or ‘new age’ for their taste.  Even if you don’t think you or anyone you love is sensory defensive, this could be an eye-opening book that will help you understand certain things about yourself that you’ve always put up with, thinking that was just the way life was (for example, light sensitivity, avoidance of certain textures, motion sickness, etc.).  And I would definitely recommend this for parents of young children as a way of understanding how young bodies respond to certain stimuli.

7341“The Gospel According to Tolkien: Glimpses of the Kingdom in Middle-Earth,” by Ralph C. Wood ~ Are you looking for something to quench your Tolkien thirst?  Ralph C. Wood, professor of theology and literature, has written a wonderful book that holds a magnifying glass up to Tolkien’s classic Hobbit & Lord of the Rings trilogy.  I knew that J. R. R. Tolkien was a Christian.  I knew that he hated allegories and didn’t set out to write a “Christian novel” in the usual sense of the word.  But this book helped show me how he did so.  How a book that doesn’t mention God and wasn’t an allegory could be such a classic and so Christian at the same time.  First the author introduces us to the mythology of Middle Earth and the beauty of creation documented in the first chapter of The Silmarillion.  Then we are taught about the evil of Morgoth and taken through “the fall” of the elves, through the quest of the fellowship, and to the departing of the elves at the Grey Havens.  Those who are ardent Middle Earth fans know the history already, but this book takes you much deeper intellectually and spiritually.  The LOR isn’t just a story.  One can apply much of Tolkien’s wisdom to one’s life.  I came away from this appreciating the classic tale at a more beautiful level than heretofore.  I would love to read more books similar to this by Ralph C. Wood (or even other authors) about other works of classic fiction.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
