RSS

Movie Review: Saving Sarah Cain (200th Post & 2nd Anniversary!!)

14 Mar

Saving Sarah CainBased on the book, “The Redemption of Sarah Cain,” by Beverly Lewis.

Version: 2007; directed by Michael Landon, Jr.; starring Lisa Pepper, Abigail Mason, Tom Tate; Soren Fulton Danielle Chuchran

Genre: drama; inspirational

Plot Summary: Busy journalist Sarah Cain gets an unexpected shock when her estranged Amish sister unexpectedly dies, leaving the guardianship of her five children to Sarah’s care.  When Sarah decides to write a newspaper column using her nephews and nieces as the subject matter, her readers are hungry for more.  But what will happen to the Cottrell children in the midst of public school in the big city?  And when the truth of Sarah’s reason for bringing them home with her is revealed, what will happen to her relationships with those she cares about most?

My Review: Disclaimer*: I have not read the original book, so this review will not be comparing it to that novel.  Only as a story in and of itself, totally unrelated to the book.  

I’ve seen a few movies directed by Michael Landon, Jr.,  among which are the Love Comes Softly series based on the books by Janette Oke, and The Last Sin Eater based on the book by Francine Rivers.  I decided to try this particular story centering on a grieving Amish family and based on the book by Beverly Lewis.  Truth be told, I don’t LOVE LOVE the Love Comes Softly series for reasons I won’t go into here, but it couldn’t hurt to try this PG rated movie.  At least I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about the content.

Bailee Madison saving sarah caineAnd I was right.  This is an easy family-friendly 2 hours.  I think Michael Landon, Jr. did a great job directing this story that takes place during a contemporary time-era, something I think he should stick to instead of historical period dramas.  I would like to see more of this type of movie from him.  The acting was good for the most part, maybe a little stilted only sometimes.  The thing that I loved the most was that I felt the movie was well cast, from the character of Sarah Cain down to little Hannah (cute girl!).  I mean, the children really did look like they were Amish.

I can’t say it really impacted me, but I appreciated it doesn’t wallop you over the head with an overt preachy message.  “Saving Sarah Cain” is a bit of a tear-jerker, so if you like those types of stories you’ll be all for this.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2015 in Movie Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
