RSS

Year in Review (2014)

31 Dec

f114962d27bd85390ded28b98ead8b42I’ve been excited to write up this blog post!  It’s so satisfying to look back over the past year and see all the books I’ve added to my Books Read list.  To start things off, here is a fun quiz I found on this blog where I answered questions using fiction titles of the books you’ve read in the past 12 months:

Describe yourself: Kilmeny of the Orchard (by L. M. Montgomery)

How do you feel: Stuck in the Middle (by Virginia Smith)

Describe where you currently live: North and South (by Elizabeth Gaskell)

If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Sanctuary (by Beverly and David Lewis)

Your favourite form of transportation: Black Beauty (by Anna Sewell)

You and your friends are: All God’s Children (by Anna Schmidt)

What’s the weather like: Whisper on the Wind (by Maureen Lang)

You fear: An Echo in the Darkness (by Francine Rivers)

Thought for the day: Misery Loves Company (by Rene Gutteridge)

How I would like to die: A Man Lay Dead (by Ngaio Marsh)

My soul’s present condition: The Best of Evil (by Eric Wilson)

I didn’t read so many classics in 2014, but I did try a couple of genres I don’t normally read much of. I read several mysteries, wonderful children’s stories, a good many non-fiction, and even tried a few chick-lits.  You can see my list here, but I will say that it is not a complete list.  I’ve kept some non-fiction titles private so as not to give away my personal life.  My reading goal for this year was 2 fiction books + 1 non fiction book per month.  I haven’t quite met that yet, but still have a few books to finish up before the year’s end (Black Beauty, The Heart of Princess Osra, Race to the End).  If I am successful at that, I will have read a total of 36 books.  This has beaten my best record yet!  But to be honest, I feel like I could have read several more if I had not fallen into a reading slump toward the second half of the year.  I guess I’m just a perfectionist!

One of the fun things I like to do while reviewing the books I’ve read is to head up my annual Book Awards.  I did this last year in this post.  Below you will find my personal favorites from 2014, with 12 fiction categories and 1 for best non-fiction (click on the pictures for slideshow):

So what was my favorite read from the many fiction adventures I’ve had this past year?…

The winner is:

Most of my favorite books are children’s classics, and this year added Edward Eager’s The Time Garden as my favorite for 2014.  Book reviews to follow throughout the coming year for all of these and more!

What were your favorite books this year?

Happy New Years!

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
