RSS

Movie Review: Stardust

25 Jan

Stardust - I loved the book, and I loved the movie, but as two completely different entitiesBased on the book by Neil Gaiman.

Version: 2007; starring Charlie Cox, Claire Danes, Mark Strong, Michelle Pfeiffer; Ben Barnes

Genre: fantasy; romance

Plot Summary: Tristan, a young man from a small village, promises his lady-love he will bring her the gift of a fallen star.  What ensues is a magical journey beyond “Wall”, full of magic, witches who desire youth, rival heirs to a kingly throne, airship pirates… and one very lovely fallen star.

My Review: Disclaimer*: I have not read the original book, so this review will not be comparing it to that novel.  Only as a story in and of itself, totally unrelated to the book.  

I had seen this movie at the library and was curious because of the well-known actors featured in it.  I debated whether it was worth a try or if it would turn out to be pretty hokey, as a lot of fantasy flicks tend to be.  But I gave it a shot.

This surely is quite an adventurous tale!  I loved the pace, and although a bit tacky around the edges as far as production and quality goes, I felt the film overall was a lot more bearable to watch than The Brothers Grimm  The plot itself is a delightful and original story.

I fell in love with this dress when I saw it in the movie Stardust. I like how it moves and how it looks like liquid mercury! Such a clever design. http://www.costumersguide.com/stardust/silver1.jpgHowever… I was not aware going into it that this movie was labeled “an adult fantasy.”  Had I known, I probably would not have bothered.  To be honest, it wasn’t worth my time.  I have seen worse movies, as far as content and innuendos go, but I was not impressed with the characters’ values.  From the very start, we have Tristan’s father (as a young man) jumping into bed with a woman he’d barely met; eventually, Tristan and his love interest follow the same path.  This is not frowned upon or met with any consequences they learn from it; it’s simply assumed that this is the ‘way it is.’  I especially felt bad for the naiive star, Yvaine, who seems to assume that being in love equals sex.

There is other unpleasant content and sexual innuendos, including a homosexual pirate, a cleavage bearing witch, and a male turned into a female (by the witch).

I found myself arguing about one of the themes in the movie, which is stated in one of the opening scenes.  This is not an exact quote, only paraphrased, but in essence it was that in order to become a man, a boy must first win the heart of his lady love.”  I don’t know about you, but I think that is completely twisted.  Sisters, if he isn’t a man before he starts to pursue, then he has no business pursuing in the first place.

Casting was very appropriate, and Claire Danes makes a beautiful star to gaze at.  But this isn’t a movie I could recommend, in general.  I came away somewhat entertained, but mostly disappointed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2014 in Movie Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
